World T20 Cup recap: Part II

Tags: ICC World Twenty20 2012, ICC World T20 - 2010, ICC World Twenty20, 2013-14

Published on: Mar 08, 2016

The 2016 World T20 has gotten underway. In part two of our recap, we look at editions three to five – held in 2010, 2012 and 2014

The 2016 World T20 has gotten underway. In part two of our recap, we look at editions three to five – held in 2010, 2012 and 2014.

2010: The third edition of ICC World T20 took place in West Indies from April 30 to May 16. Like in the first two editions, the tournament featured 12 teams. Apart from the ten Test playing nations, Ireland and Afghanistan also made the cut. Again, the teams were divided into four groups of three teams each. Australia, Pakistan, New Zealand, Sri Lanka, India, South Africa, West Indies and England made it to the Super 8. Following the Super 8s, England, Sri Lanka, Australia and Pakistan reached the final four.

In the first semi-final at St. Lucia, England defeated Sri Lanka by seven wickets while Australia got the better of Pakistan by three wickets in the other semis. In the final held at Barbados, England upset Australia. They chased down 148 in 17 overs, Craig Kieswetter’s 49-ball 63 being the standout effort.

2012: The fourth edition of the ICC World T20 was held in Sri Lanka from September 18 to October 7. Afghanistan and Ireland again qualified for the main round, joining the Test teams. There were no surprises as India, England, Australia, West Indies, South Africa, Sri Lanka, Pakistan and New Zealand made it to the Super 8s. From them Sri Lanka, West Indies, Australia and Pakistan progressed to the semis.

Sri Lanka overcame Pakistan in the first semi-final at Colombo by 16 runs while West Indies thrashed Australia by 74 runs in the other at the same venue, courtesy Chris Gayle’s smashing unbeaten 75 from 41 balls. West Indies overcame hosts Lanka by 36 runs in the final at Colombo. On a sluggish surface, Marlon Samuels’ 78 from 55 balls proved to be the difference between the teams.

2014: The fifth edition took place in Bangladesh from March 16 to April 6. The format changed as the tournament involved 16 sides. The first round consisted of eight qualifiers, from which two moved to the second round, where they met the top eight Test nations to form the Super 10. Bangladesh and Netherlands progressed from the qualifying round into the Super 10. Following the conclusion of this round, Sri Lanka, South Africa, India and West Indies made it to the final four.

Sri Lanka beat defending champions West Indies by 27 runs via (D/L method) in the first semi-final at Mirpur. Angelo Mathews smashed 40 from 23 as Lanka made 160 for 6. In response, West Indies managed 80/4 in 13.5 overs. Virat Kohli’s unbeaten 72 from 44 helped India chase down 173 in the second semis. Kumar Sangakkara hit an unbeaten 52 from 35 balls as Sri Lanka chased down 131 in the final. This match is remembered for Yuvraj Singh’s struggling 11 from 21 balls even as Kohli starred again with 77 from 58. Lasith Malinga bowled some brilliant yorkers towards the end to restrict the famed Indian batting line-up.

--By A Cricket Analyst

Related News