Sydney Sixers win KFC Big Bash League 2011/12!

Tags: Big Bash T20 2012, Moises Constantino Henriques

Published on: Jan 28, 2012

Match Highlights of Perth Scorchers Vs Sydney Sixers, Final at the WACA Ground, Perth, KFC Big Bash League 2011/12

Sydney Sixers led by Steven Smith have gone onto win the KFC Big Bash League 2011/12 after defeating the Perth Scorchers in the Final at the WACA Ground in Perth today. A strong opening stand of 110 between Moises Henriques and Steve O’Keefe made it easy for Sydney Sixers to chase down the target of 158 with 9 balls to spare. It was a smooth sailing 7-wicket victory for Sydney Sixers.

Batting first after winning the toss, Perth Scorchers were restricted to 156 for 5 in 20 overs after losing two wickets in the very first over of the match to Brett Lee. Mitchell Marsh with a superb unbeaten knock of 77 from 57 balls with 5 fours and 4 sixes and a cameo of 32 from 25 balls from former England Cricketer Paul Collingwood took the Scorchers to a competitive total. Brett Lee and left arm spinner Steve O Keefe bowled economically well giving away just around 20 runs in their 4 overs quota.

Moises henriquesFor the Sydney Sixers, Moises Henriques stole the thunder smashing 70 from just 41 balls with 6 fours and 4 sixes. Henriques’ opening partner - Steve O’Keefe who bowled so well early on provided the stability at the other end with 48 from 46 balls with 3 fours and 2 sixes.

Moises Henriques got the Player of the Match while David Hussey of the Melbourne Stars got the Player of the Tournament award.

Related News