India Squad for T20 World Cup is Best Ever: Ravi Shastri

Tags: ICC Mens T20 World Cup 2022, India, Ravishankar Jayadritha Shastri, Team Squad

Published on: Oct 15, 2022

The current Team India squad assembled at the T20 World Cup in Australia is the best ever team, stated former India coach Ravi Shastri. He was in charge of the 2021 T20 World Cup and the boys didn't qualify for the knockout phase then.

About a year later, since the failure of the team, the current batting line-up seems to be more settled and particularly with the comeback of Dinesh Karthik and emergence of Suryakumar Yadav in the middle order. The batters may help the team to reach to the semi-finals even though the key fast bowler Jasprit Bumrah has been ruled out due to back injury, added Shastri at a Mumbai Press Club event.

He added, "I have been part of the system for the last six-seven years, first as a coach and now I am watching from the outside, and I think this is as good a line-up as India has ever had in T20 cricket."

The 60-year-old said that the top order will be playing as the batters would like to play. Suryakumar will be playing at number four while Hardik Pandya is to bat at number five. Dinesh Karthik or Rishabh Pant will be seen at number six. The order will make a massive difference.

The 60-year-old is now more concerned about the fielding of Team India at the T20 World Cup and need to concentrate in performing better. It requires a good hard work and try to restrict the opponents from pocketing runs. A 15 to 20 runs save can make a difference in a game.

He quoted with the recent example of Sri Lanka in the final match of the Asia Cup against Pakistan. The fielders were able to get host of key catches and won the title.

He further said that teams like South Africa, England and Australia field like crazy.

Meanwhile, BCCI has announced Mohammed Shami is replacing Jasprit Bumrah, who was earlier ruled out from the T20 World Cup due to back injury.

The ICC Men’s T20 World Cup is scheduled to be held in Australia from October 16 to November 13. The teams participating are Afghanistan, Australia, Bangladesh, England, India, Ireland, Namibia, Netherlands, New Zealand, Pakistan, Scotland, South Africa, Sri Lanka, UAE, West Indies and Zimbabwe.

The first match for Team India is on October 23 against Pakistan. The two finals are scheduled to be played on November 9 and 10. The final will be played on November 13.

Team India Squad for 2022 T20 World Cup

Rohit Sharma (c), KL Rahul (vc), Ravichandran Ashwin, Yuzvendra Chahal, Deepak Hooda, Dinesh Karthik (wk), Virat Kohli, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Hardik Pandya, Rishabh Pant (wk), Axar Patel, Harshal Patel, Mohammed Shami, Arshdeep Singh, Suryakumar Yadav

2022 T20 World Cup Venues

Adelaide Oval in Adelaide with capacity 55,317

The Gabba in Brisbane with capacity 42,000

Kardinia Park in Geelong with capacity 26,000

Bellerive Oval in Hobart with capacity 20,000

Perth Stadium in Perth with capacity 61,266

Melbourne Cricket Ground in Melbourne with capacity 100,024

Sydney Cricket Ground in Sydney with capacity 48,601

Related News