Dwayne Smith, Dhawal Kulkarni star in Mumbai Indians' 10-wkt win over Rajasthan

Tags: Indian Premier League - 2012, Rajasthan Royals Vs Mumbai Indians 72nd Match at Jaipur - May 20, 2012, Dwayne Romel Smith, Sachin Ramesh Tendulkar, Dhawal Sunil Kulkarni

Published on: May 20, 2012

Scorecard | Commentary | Graphs

Rajasthan Royals lost to Mumbai Indians by 10 wickets in Match 72 at Sawai Mansingh Stadium, Jaipur, DLF IPL 2012

By BV Swagath

Update of Mumbai Indians Batting: Mumbai Indians eased to a 10-wicket win with 12 balls to spare against the Rajasthan Royals at Jaipur. Dwayne Smith, promoted as an opener smashed 87* from 58 balls with 10 fours and 3 sixes in an entertaining knock to star in the victory. His opening partner Sachin Tendulkar helped himself to an unbeaten 58 from 51 balls with 6 fours.

This match outcome has no real significance but it served the Mumbai Indians to try out different combinations. One of them was on the bowling front with young Dhawal Kulkarni playing only his first match of the season and producing superb figures of 3 for 18 in 4 overs. The other change from Mumbai Indians was to send in Dwayne Smith in the opening role and he has come out with flying colours.

Dwayne Smith smashed an unbeaten 87 from 58 balls.Update of Rajasthan Royals Batting: Rajasthan Royals have posted a competitive total of 162/6 after winning the toss and batting first at Jaipur against Mumbai Indians. It was a tremendous bowling performance from Dhawal Kulkarni as he took 3 for 18 in 4 overs besides bowling a maiden. The top scorer for the homeside was Shane Watson with 45 (from 36 balls with 4 fours and 2 sixes).

None of the Rajasthan batsmen crossed a fifty but there were meaningful contributions coming in from Stuart Binny (30 from 17 balls with 3 fours and 2 sixes) and Owais Shah (28 from 24 balls with a four and a six) apart from Watson.

Toss and Teams: In what is a match of little significance, Rajasthan Royals have won the toss and elected to bat first against Mumbai Indians at the Sawai Mansingh Stadium in Jaipur. Mumbai Indians have already qualified for the play offs while Rajasthan Royals are already out of the tournament. So it is more of a practice game for the Mumbai Indians before the next round.

Mumbai Indians have come up with a couple of changes with Herschelle Gibbs and Munaf Patel making way for James Franklin and Dhawal Kulkarni. Rajasthan Royals have made two changes with Dishant Yagnik and Brad Hogg replacing Shreevats Goswami and Brad Hogg.

Rajasthan Royals: R Dravid (Captain), AM Rahane, SR Watson, OA Shah, AL Menaria, DH Yagnik (Wicket Keeper), STR Binny, GB Hogg, SW Tait, SK Trivedi, A Chandila

Mumbai Indians: SR Tendulkar, RG Sharma, KD Karthik (Wicket Keeper), JEC Franklin, AT Rayudu, DR Smith, KA Pollard, Harbhajan Singh (Captain), SL Malinga, RP Singh, DS Kulkarni

Related News