India Defeats SA in 20th Over in Third ODI; Kuldeep Yadav Grabs 4 Wickets

Tags: South Africa tour of India, 2022, India vs South Africa, 3rd ODI at Lucknow, Oct 11, 2022, South Africa, India

Published on: Oct 13, 2022

Scorecard | Commentary | Graphs

India bowled out all the ten wickets of South Africa in 27.1 overs and restricted the guest team for a paltry 99 runs in the third and final match of the bilateral ODI series. Wristspinner Kuldeep Yadav grabbed four wickets in 4.1 overs and spared just 18 runs. He was announced Player of the Match. Washington Sundar, Mohammed Siraj and Shahbaz Ahmed shared 2 wickets each.

India won the toss and opted to field first at the Arun Jaitley Stadium in Delhi. South Africa lost the first wicket, Quinton de Kock, when the score was just seven. The second loss of Janneman Malan was at a score of 25. The fall of wickets were in series as 1-7 (Quinton de Kock, 2.5 ov), 2-25 (Janneman Malan, 7.5 ov), 3-26 (Reeza Hendricks, 9.6 ov), 4-43 (Aiden Markram, 15.3 ov), 5-66 (David Miller, 18.5 ov), 6-71 (Andile Phehlukwayo, 19.4 ov), 7-93 (Heinrich Klaasen, 24.3 ov), 8-94 (Bjorn Fortuin, 25.3 ov), 9-94 (Anrich Nortje, 25.4 ov), 10-99 (Marco Jansen, 27.1 ov).

India scored 105 for 3 in 19.1 overs. The fall of wickets was 1-42 (Shikhar Dhawan, 6.1 ov), 2-58 (Ishan Kishan, 10.4 ov), 3-97 (Shubman Gill, 18.2 ov). Shardul Thakur, Washington Sundar, Shahbaz Ahmed, Kuldeep Yadav, Avesh Khan, Mohammed Siraj did not bat.

With the victory, India has won the series by 2-1. Mohammed Siraj was announced Player of the Series. Indian captain Shikhar Dhawan said, "I am proud of the boys, the way they played in the series. The way they carried the responsibility and showed maturity. We showed a lot of character in the first game, we dropped a few catches, but we never really put pressure on ourselves."

India Playing XI: Shikhar Dhawan, Shubman Gill, Ishan Kishan, Shreyas Iyer, Sanju Samson, Washington Sundar, Shahbaz Ahmed, Shardul Thakur, Kuldeep Yadav, Avesh Khan, Mohammed Siraj.

South Africa Playing XI: Quinton de Kock, Janneman Malan, Reeza Hendricks, Aiden Markram, Heinrich Klaasen, David Miller, Marco Jansen, Andile Phehlukwayo, Bjorn Fortuin, Anrich Nortje, Lungi Ngidi.

The bilateral series with South Africa was the last international preparation for India for the ICC Men's T20 World Cup scheduled to be held in Australia from October 16 to November 13. The multi-nation event will be featuring sixteen teams and 45 matches.

The inaugural match will be played between Namibia and Sri Lanka at the Kardinia Park stadium in Geelong while the first match for India is scheduled against Pakistan on October 23 at the Melbourne Cricket Ground in Melbourne.

The two semi-finals will be played on November 9 and November 10 at the Sydney Cricket Ground in Sydney and Adelaide Oval in Adelaide respectively. The final match is to be held at the Melbourne Cricket Ground in Melbourne.

The Indian squad announced is Rohit Sharma (c), KL Rahul (vc), Ravichandran Ashwin, Yuzvendra Chahal, Deepak Hooda, Dinesh Karthik (wk), Virat Kohli, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Hardik Pandya, Rishabh Pant (wk), Axar Patel, Harshal Patel, Arshdeep Singh, Suryakumar Yadav.

Jasprit Bumrah has been ruled out due to back injury. Ravi Bishnoi, Deepak Chahar, Shreyas Iyer, Mohammed Shami are standby players for the event.

Related News