Gambhir's unbeaten ton takes India to 2-0

Tags: New Zealand tour of India - 2010, India v New Zealand 2nd ODI at Mohali - Dec 1, 2010, India, New Zealand, Shanthakumaran Sreesanth, Scott Bernard Styris, Martin James Guptill, Gautam Gambhir, Virat Kohli

Published on: Dec 01, 2010

Scorecard | Commentary | Graphs

Gautam Gambhir led India to a cakewalk victory of 8 wickets with as many as 42 balls to spare thanks to his unbeaten 8th ODI Century.

India Innings

Gautam Gambhir led India to a cakewalk victory of 8 wickets with as many as 42 balls to spare thanks to his unbeaten 8th ODI Century. The Indian Captain strokes his way to 138 not out in 116 balls with 18 fours. The southpaw sealed the match with two big partnerships - 87 runs for the first wicket with Murali Vijay and then 116 runs for the second wicket with Virat Kohli.

India had a solid start and it was only in the 18th over that New Zealand could find any success when Murali Vijay on 33 (from 58 balls) paid the price for slog sweeping a full ball from Vettori to get bowled. After his exit, the in-form Virat Kohli made the Kiwis hunt leather along with the classy Gautam Gambhir. Kohli eased to 64 from 73 balls with 8 fours before getting caught brilliantly at short mid wicket in a full blooded pull shot off Andy McKay in the 37th over. As far as Gautam Gambhir was concerned, he was just unstoppable and in an over from Andy McKay, the left hander took the left armer for three consecutive boundaries behind point.

Yuvraj Singh helped Gambhir to finish the match without any fuss with a six and a four in his unbeaten 16 from 11 balls. Gambhir got the Man of the Match award to round off the day nigher at Jaipur taking India to a series lead of 2-0.

New Zealand Innings

New Zealand have given a competitive target of 259 from 50 overs for India to win the Second ODI at Jaipur. The Kiwis were mostly on the backfoot thanks to some tidy bowling from India but they got some useful partnerships going to finally finish at 258 for 8. Opener Martin Guptill stayed long enough this time to top score with 70 from 102 balls with 3 fours and a six. Guptill added 65 runs with Styris for the 4th wicket who in turn added 54 runs with Skipper Daniel Vettori. New Zealand otherwise struggled to get going right through the innings except for few overs here and there.

Sreesanth struck early for India when he had Jamie How nicked his late outswinger to the keeper in the 4th over. One down batsman - Kane Williamson played yet another slow knock, 29 from 46 balls before he got bowled through the gate by a Munaf Patel off cutter. Ross Taylor slog swept Yusuf Pathan's very first ball of his spell to deep mid wicket to reduce New Zealand to 96 for 3 in the 25th over. India after this were defied by the pair of Guptill and Styris as the Kiwis got back into the game. Guptill was unlucky to be given caught behind to a carrom ball from Ashwin which he never seemed to have nicked!

At 161 for 4, New Zealand got another good partnership with Vettori scoring 31 from 32 balls during the batting powerplay to help his side towards a decent total in the company of Styris. Just when this pair was about to strike the boundaries at will, came Sreesanth who got rid of both Styris and Vettori in consecutive deliveries to leave New Zealand at 219 for 5 in 45.2 overs. Styris was out miscuing a pull shot while Vettori shuffled far too across to get bowled round his legs. Sreesanth got one more wicket before the close of the innings by cleaning up the stumps of Kyle Mills who slapped him for a big six over wide long off.

Toss and Teams

New Zealand had a sigh of relief when their regular Captain and leading bowler - Daniel Vettori returned back to the side for the Second ODI at Jaipur. It was Gautam Gambhir who won the toss and asked the Kiwis to bat first under good batting conditions. The reason for Gambhir's decision to bowl first was to avoid the dew that is expected to play a huge role under the lights to make things difficult for the bowlers.

India have kept faith in the same XI that won the first ODI at Guwahati. For the Kiwis, Daniel Vettori and Tim Southee come in for Grant Elliott and Daryl Tuffey.

India : M Vijay, G Gambhir (C), V Kohli, Yuvraj Singh, SK Raina, YK Pathan, WP Saha (WK), R Ashwin, A Nehra, S Sreesanth and MM Patel
New Zealand : JM How, MJ Guptill, LRPL Taylor, SB Styris, KS Williamson, DL Vettori (C), GJ Hopkins (WK), NL McCullum, KD Mills, TG Southee and AJ McKay
- B.V.Swagath

Related News