Sri Lanka trash India to storm into Finals!

Tags: Tri-Series in Sri Lanka - 2010, IND v SL 5th Match at Dambulla - Aug 22, 2010, India, Sri Lanka, Narangoda Liyanaarachchilage Thissara Chirantha Perera

Published on: Aug 22, 2010

Scorecard | Commentary | Graphs

Hosts Sri Lanka have stormed into the Finals of the Tri-Series by pounding India with an 8-wicket win!

Hosts Sri Lanka have stormed into the Finals of the Tri-Series by pounding India with an 8-wicket win! The target of 104 was smashed in just 15.1 overs because of the superb opening stand of 79 (in 9.2 overs) by Tillakaratne Dilshan (35 from 23 balls) and Mahela Jayawardene (33). Ishant Sharma got both the openers in consecutive deliveries which only delayed the end of the match by a few deliveries.

Thissara Perera was the obvious choice for the Man of the Match for taking a five-wicket haul.

Dinner Break Report

Sri Lanka getting to bat out for 8 overs before the dinner break made a smashing 63 for no loss! Tillakaratne Dilshan spanked the Indian bowling with an unbeaten 31 from 21 balls with 7 fours. Giving him company is a new opening partner in Mahela Jayawardene who has kept the momentum going with an unbeaten 21 from 28 balls.

India Innings

Swing bowler Thissara Perera who is playing in his first match of the Tri-Series produced a maiden five-wicket haul to help Sri Lanka bundle out India cheaply for 103! The Indian innings was shaken up at 26 for 2 when both the opening batsmen fell cheaply courtesy of some poor umpiring decision from Kumar Dharmasena. Nuwan Kulasekara was the lucky bowler taking those two wickets and just when a decent partnership was shaping up between Rohit Sharma and Yuvraj Singh came a sharp inswinger from Angelo Mathews to reduce India to 50 for 3. Rohit Sharma was gone after a struggling stay and following him back in the hut were the trio of Raina, Dhoni and Jadeja as India slipped to 77 for 6.

Yuvraj Singh was running out of partners in no time and he himself was a victim of a bad lbw decision from the Umpire. The left hander was fighting hard through his 38 from 64 balls (with 5 fours and a six) before getting lbw to Malinga. The innings was wrapped up in the 34th over with Perera cleaning up Ishant's stumps to clinch his five-wicket haul.

Toss and Teams

MS Dhoni has finally managed to win a toss and he has elected to bat first in the 5th Match against Sri Lanka at Dambulla. India have made one change with Yuvraj Singh recovering from dengue to replace Virat Kohli. Sri Lanka have made two changes with Suraj Randiv and Thissara Perera coming in for Rangana Herath and Ajantha Mendis.

Sri Lanka : WU Tharanga, TM Dilshan, KC Sangakkara (C&WK), DPMD Jayawardene, LPC Silva, CK Kapugedera, AD Mathews, KMDN Kulasekara, SL Malinga, S Randiv, NLTC Perera

India : KD Karthik, V Sehwag, SK Raina, Yuvraj Singh, RG Sharma, MS Dhoni (C&WK), RA Jadeja, P Kumar, I Sharma, A Nehra, PP Ojha

Related News